Skip to Main Content

News & Multimedia

Mike Tirico Danica Patrick
Tirico, Patrick To Lead NBC Coverage of Indianapolis 500

Diffey, Bell, Hinchcliffe To Call Action May 28, Entire Season

With 100 days until the 107th Running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge on NBC and Peacock, NBC Sports announced Feb. 17 that Mike Tirico and Danica Patrick will return to its coverage of “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing” on May 28 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Tirico made his debut as NBC Sports’ host of the Indianapolis 500 during its inaugural broadcast in 2019 and has served in the same role each year. Patrick, who earned a top-five finish in the 2005 Indianapolis 500 and boasts six career top-10 finishes in the event, has previously served as a studio analyst during NBC Sports’ pre-race coverage and as an analyst on the Peacock Pit Box alongside pit lane for NBC Sports’ Indy 500 broadcasts.

NBC Sports’ lead NTT INDYCAR SERIES broadcast booth of Leigh Diffey (play-by-play), Townsend Bell (analyst) and James Hinchcliffe (analyst) will have the call of the 107th Running of the Indianapolis 500 on NBC and Peacock. Additional commentators contributing to NBC Sports’ Indy 500 coverage will be announced soon.

NBC Sports’ exclusive coverage of the 2023 NTT INDYCAR SERIES begins at noon ET Sunday, March 5 on NBC and Peacock with the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg presented by RP Funding, the first of seven consecutive races on the NBC broadcast network to begin the 2023 season.

Last year, NBC Sports’ coverage of the NTT INDYCAR SERIES delivered the most-watched INDYCAR SERIES season since 2016 and NBC Sports’ most-watched season on record, an increase of 5% compared to 2021.

NBC Counting Down Top 10 Indy 500’s of All Time

NBC Sports will honor the rich history of the Indianapolis 500 by counting down the Top 10 Indianapolis 500s of All Time, as voted on by an esteemed panel of former drivers, broadcasters and INDYCAR SERIES historians. The members of the committee will be announced soon.

The Top 10 list will be revealed throughout the first portion of NBC Sports’ exclusive coverage of the 2023 NTT INDYCAR SERIES as well as across its social and digital platforms, culminating with the announcement of the No. 1 Indianapolis 500 of all time on the weekend of this year’s race.

The committee will use a variety of criteria to determine the rankings, including the quality of the racing, memorable moments, the strength of the field, and the race’s historical impact.

Show More Show Less