News & Multimedia

Cunningham Holds Off Kimball For Third Firestone Freedom 100 Win

Box Score

Wade Cunningham didn’t need directions to Victory Circle at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Cunningham, starting second in the No. 77 Lucas Oil/BSS/Sam Schmidt Motorsports car, held off Charlie Kimball by .4368 of a second Friday, May 28 to become the first three-time winner of the Firestone Freedom 100.

“The car was great in the draft and it was pretty easy for me to pass Charlie, and both times he got in front, I didn’t panic because I knew in a couple of laps I’d be back in front,” said Cunningham, the 2005 Firestone Indy Lights champion. “I never gave him the chance to get by.”

James Hinchcliffe, winner of the Long Beach race in mid-April, finished 2.3 seconds back in the No. 2 TMR-Xtreme Coil Drilling car. Dan Clarke, driving the No. 40 Wasteco Deans Knight Special for Walker Racing, posted the highest finish in his three Firestone Indy Lights races (advancing six positions from 10th), and Martin Plowman finished fifth in the No. 27 Automatic Fire Sprinklers/KEP Printing entry.

The victory was the 28t in Firestone Indy Lights for Sam Schmidt Motorsports.

“It’s been a dream week,” said team owner Sam Schmidt, who headed to Victory Circle for the fifth time in the eight-year history of the Firestone Freedom 100. “Wade is just a consummate professional, and he just loves this place. He hand-worked on that car for a week to make it ready for this race. He never left the shop, and it showed today.”

Kimball, driving the No. 26 Levemir FlexPen car for AFS Racing Andretti Autosport, grabbed the point on Lap 33, and it turned into a two-car sprint to the finish. Cunningham regained the lead on Lap 35 but never had more than a two car-length advantage to the checkered flag. It was the fourth-closest finish in the 40-lap race.

It was the third consecutive runner-up finish for Kimball, who closed to within five points of J.K. Vernay in the championship standings through four races.

“I had to get the car down almost all the way down to the apron just to get it to turn, and it’s a ride down there,” Kimball said. “But it’s what it took to challenge for the win.”

The goal of being the first female winner of the race – and at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway – was dashed for Pippa Mann on Lap 3 when the back end of the No. 17 Team E car driven by veteran Jeff Simmons swung out enough in Turn 1 to collect Mann’s No. 11 Sam Schmidt Motorsports car. She was the first female to start on the pole at the Speedway and the second in Firestone Indy Lights competition.

The incident created the only caution period in the race. Rookie Philip Major, driving the No. 49 Sam Schmidt Motorsports car, finished a season-high sixth, and Stefan Wilson in the No. 28 Bryan Herta Autosport entry recorded his third top 10 in seventh.


2010 Indy 500 tickets: Tickets for the 2010 Indianapolis 500, scheduled for Sunday, May 30, are on sale now. Race Day ticket prices start at just $20.

Fans can order tickets online at, call the IMS ticket office at (317) 492-6700, or (800) 822-INDY outside the Indianapolis area or visit the ticket office at the IMS Administration Building at the corner of Georgetown Road and 16th Street. Online orders can be made at any time. Hours for phone orders and the ticket office are 8 a.m.-5 p.m. (ET) Monday-Friday.

Tickets for groups of 20 or more also are on sale. Contact the IMS Group Sales Department at (866) 221-8775 for more information.

Show More Show Less
Items 4,072 - 216 of 216
2022 Tickets
Sign Up For The Latest News

Get the latest information about the Racing Capital of the World by signing up for the Wing and Wheel Newsletter.

By submitting this form you are opting in to email communication from the Indianapolis Motor Speedway