Skip to Main Content
Indianapolis 500 Winners
Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Winning Drivers and Teams

Scott Brayton Driver's Trophy Winners

Indianapolis 500

The Scott Brayton Driver’s Trophy was awarded to the driver best exemplifying the character and racing spirit of late driver Scott Brayton. Brayton was fatally injured on May 17, 1996 during practice for the Indianapolis 500 just six days after winning the pole for the race.

Scott Brayton Driver's Trophy Winners
Year Recipient
1997 John Paul Jr.
1998 Roberto Guerrero
1999 Eliseo Salazar
2000 Eddie Cheever Jr.
2001 Davey Hamilton
2002 Arie Luyendyk
2003 Buddy Lazier
2004 Helio Castroneves
2005 Kenny Brack
2006 Sam Hornish Jr.
2007 Tony Kanaan
2008 Vitor Meira
2009 Sarah Fisher