Skip to Main Content

News & Multimedia

Franchitti Earns $2.75 Million For Win; De Silvestro Chase Rookie Of The Year
Franchitti Earns $2.75 Million For Win; De Silvestro Chase Rookie Of The Year

Official Box Score | Victory Celebration Photos

Dario Franchitti earned $2,752,055 from an overall purse of $13,592,815 for his victory May 30 in the 2010 Indianapolis 500 Mile Race.

Franchitti and the No. 10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing team put together a near-perfect 500 miles at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Franchitti shared several emotional moments in Victory Lane with his team, family and friends after he took his second career victory in “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing” in his Target-sponsored Dallara/Honda/Firestone.

Franchitti, a Scottish-born resident of Nashville, Tenn., led six times for 155 laps in a command performance, but victory was far from guaranteed as the 200-lap event drew to a conclusion.

With just 20 laps to go, Justin Wilson led with three-time winner Helio Castroneves in second and Graham Rahal, the son of 1986 “500” winner Bobby Rahal, in third. Those three drivers then were forced to pit for fuel, and Franchitti took the lead on Lap 192 with Tony Kanaan chasing him down.

It appeared the race could come down to a duel between Franchitti and Kanaan until Kanaan had to pit for fuel on Lap 196. Franchitti went on to win under caution following a crash between Mike Conway and Ryan Hunter-Reay on the final lap.

2005 Indianapolis 500 winner Dan Wheldon finished second for the second consecutive year in the No. 4 National Guard Panther Racing Dallara/Honda/Firestone, earning $1,007,305. Marco Andretti finished third in the No. 26 Team Venom Energy entry for Andretti Autosport, earning $630,505.

Alex Lloyd finished an Indy career-best fourth in the No. 19 Boy Scouts of America entry fielded by Dale Coyne Racing, earning $425,305, and Franchitti’s Target Chip Ganassi Racing teammate, 2008 Indianapolis 500 winner Scott Dixon, finished fifth and earned $377,305.

Simona de Silvestro earned the prestigious Indianapolis 500 Chase Rookie of the Year Award, which includes a $25,000 bonus plus the Chase Rookie of the Year Trophy. De Silvestro finished 14th in the No. 78 Team Stargate Worlds HVM Racing Dallara/Honda/Firestone.

The Indianapolis 500 Mile Race purse consists of Indianapolis Motor Speedway and IZOD IndyCar Series awards, plus other designated and special awards. Purse awards were announced and presented at the Indianapolis 500 Victory Celebration on Monday, May 31 at IMS.

The Indianapolis Motor Speedway celebrates the 100th anniversary of the Indianapolis 500 in 2011. First run on May 30, 1911, the “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing” has grown to become the world’s largest single-day sporting event and its most prestigious auto race.

The 2011 Indianapolis 500 is scheduled for Sunday, May 29.


2011 Indianapolis 500 ticket orders: The 2011 Indianapolis 500 Mile Race is scheduled for Sunday, May 29, 2011. Ticket information can be found at Ticket information also can be obtained by calling the Speedway's ticket office, (317) 492-6700 or (800) 822-INDY.

Indianapolis 500 Mile Race ticket customers can register to win a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS Pace Car Replica by reordering or applying for tickets online at between May 31 and Monday, June 14.

The grand prize Camaro SS Pace Car Replica of the Indianapolis 500 Pace Car Sweepstakes is the personal ride of Indianapolis Motor Speedway Chairman Mari Hulman George this May. Indianapolis 500 drivers such as Graham Rahal, John Andretti, Sarah Fisher, Vitor Meira and Ed Carpenter also have taken the muscle car for a spin this month.

One of the stars of the Indianapolis 500 also will deliver the car to the winner.

Show More Show Less