News & Multimedia

2013 Brickyard 400 Winner Newman Leads Flurry of New Entries for BC39

2013 Brickyard 400 winner Ryan Newman and USAC stars Tyler Courtney, Justin Grant and Thomas Meseraull are among the latest drivers to file their entries for the Driven2SaveLives BC39 Powered by NOS Energy Drink, which has 43 cars confirmed to date for the USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget event on Aug. 18-19 at The Dirt Track at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Newman will compete in one of four Clauson Marshall Racing entries alongside Courtney, Corey Day and Cole Bodine. Newman, a native of South Bend, Indiana, is an 18-time NASCAR Cup Series winner who captured the 2008 Daytona 500 and the 2013 Brickyard 400 and was a USAC National champion earlier in his career with the Silver Crown series in 1999.

Two-time USAC National champion and recent Kings Royal winner Courtney, from Indianapolis, returns for a third BC39 start after finishing fourth in 2018 and after charging from 20th to second in the 2019 event.

Also new to the 2021 BC39 entry list is the RMS Racing team of reigning USAC Silver Crown champion Justin Grant and Thomas Meseraull, a two-time winner in the USAC National Midget division this year. Terry Klatt and Bob East have entered a car for multi-time USAC National Midget feature winner Jason McDougal.

Previously entered for the event are 2020 NASCAR Cup Series champion Chase Elliott, who will make his BC39 debut this year. The driver with the most laps led in this year’s Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge, Conor Daly of Noblesville, Indiana, will make his third consecutive appearance in the BC39. NASCAR Rookie of the Year contender Chase Briscoe of Mitchell, Indiana, the winner of the NASCAR Xfinity Series’ Pennzoil 150 at the Brickyard on the 2.439-mile road course in 2020, aims to make his second-straight BC39 feature start.

Three-time USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car champion and 2018 inaugural BC39 winner Brady Bacon will race, along with four-time 2021 USAC National Sprint Car feature winner and 2018 BC39 third-place finisher Kevin Thomas Jr.

USAC titlists are in abundance with USAC career Triple Crown champion and 2018 ninth-place BC39 finisher Jerry Coons Jr. officially entered along with 1989 USAC National Midget champion Russ Gamester of Peru, Indiana, who is making his third consecutive appearance in the event.

Spectator tickets can be purchased directly at Spectators are to enter the Indianapolis Motor Speedway via 30th Street.

Show More Show Less
Items 1 - 5 of 176
2022 Tickets
Register for IMS News & Updates