News & Multimedia

Marmon 'Wasp' To Drive On IMS Oval During Two Special Parade Laps On Race Day

The Marmon “Wasp” that Ray Harroun drove to victory in the inaugural Indianapolis 500 in 1911 will be featured in two ceremonial laps during pre-race ceremonies for the 100th Anniversary Indianapolis 500 on Sunday, May 29 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

1963 Indianapolis 500 winner Parnelli Jones will drive the No. 32 Marmon “Wasp” during both laps. It will be only the third time the car has been driven on the famed IMS oval on Race Day since Harroun crossed the finish line in 1911.

The first lap with the “Wasp” also will feature cars built during the era of the inaugural Indianapolis 500 in 1911. Other drivers and cars in this lap:

•1989 and 1993 Indianapolis 500 winner Emerson Fittipaldi: 1909 Alco Black Beast.

•1996 Indianapolis 500 winner Buddy Lazier: Inter-State from 1911 era.

•1992 Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year Lyn St. James: 1911 Buick.

•Willy T. Ribbs, the first African-American starter in the Indianapolis 500, in 1991: 1909 “Blitzen Benz,” which set a speed record of 141.732 mph in 1911 that stood until 1919.

•Indianapolis 500 veteran Derek Daly: National race car from the 1911 era.

Eleven Indianapolis 500 winners will drive 11 Indianapolis 500-winning cars in another parade lap.
Leading the winners’ parade lap will be Indianapolis Motor Speedway Chairman of the Board Mari Hulman George and four-time Indianapolis 500 winner A.J. Foyt, as Foyt will drive the Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale Coupe that served as the Pace Car at the 1977 Indianapolis 500, Foyt’s fourth career Indy win. Also driving in the winners’ lap will be legendary winning car owner Andy Granatelli, in a 2011 Chevrolet Camaro Convertible Pace Car.

Other drivers and cars in the winners’ lap:

•1963 winner Parnelli Jones: The No. 32 Marmon “Wasp” that won in 1911 with Ray Harroun.

•1999 winner Kenny Brack: The No. 9 Target G Force/Oldsmobile that won in 2000 with Juan Pablo Montoya.

•2003 winner Gil de Ferran: The No. 66 Sunoco McLaren that won in 1972 with Mark Donohue.

•1983 winner Tom Sneva: The Belond Salih/Offy that won in 1957 with Sam Hanks and 1958 with Jimmy Bryan.

•1969 winner Mario Andretti: The Boyle Maserati that won in 1939 and 1940 with Wilbur Shaw.

•1990 and 1997 winner Arie Luyendyk: The No. 30 Domino’s Pizza Lola/Chevrolet Indy in which he won in 1990.

•1986 winner Bobby Rahal: The No. 14 Miller that won in 1928 with Louis Meyer.

•1974, 1976 and 1980 winner Johnny Rutherford: The No. 4 Pennzoil Chaparral/Cosworth in which he won in 1980.

•1970, 1971, 1978 and 1987 winner Al Unser: The No. 82 Lotus-Ford that won in 1965 with Jim Clark.

•1992 and 1994 winner Al Unser Jr.: The Blue Crown Spark Plug Diedt/Offy that won in 1947 and 1948 with Mauri Rose.

•1968, 1975 and 1981 winner Bobby Unser: The No. 8 National that won in 1912 with Joe Dawson.

Show More Show Less
Items 3,598 - 3,602 of 3,989
Sign Up For The Latest News

Get the latest information about the Racing Capital of the World by signing up for the Wing and Wheel Newsletter.

By submitting this form you are opting in to email communication from the Indianapolis Motor Speedway