News & Multimedia

Your Guide to Today's Angie's List Grand Prix of Indianapolis


The stars of the Verizon IndyCar Series are traveling clockwise today at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway – it’s time to run on the road course at the second annual Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis.

Drivers rave about the smooth, fast surface of the 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course, which incorporates a portion of the famous oval. Will Power, driving the No. 1 Verizon Chevrolet for Team Penske, grabbed the pole on Friday with a track-record lap of 1 minute, 9.4886 seconds.

Power, the defending Verizon IndyCar Series champion, seeks his first win of the season, a season that has featured four different winners in four events.

View Schedule | Purchase Tickets | View Starting Grid

Here’s some other storylines to watch today:

Helio Castroneves qualified third in the No. 3 Verizon Chevrolet for Team Penske and will make his 300th career Indy car start, joining Mario Andretti, A.J. Foyt, Al Unser Jr., Al Unser, Michael Andretti and Johnny Rutherford.

The new aerodynamic bodywork kits designed, manufactured and supplied by Chevrolet and Honda are making their race debut at Indianapolis. So far this season, Chevrolet has had the upper hand with its kits, and the starting grid for the Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis has 10 Chevrolets at the top.

Three drivers will compete in their first Verizon IndyCar Series race on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course: Gabby Chaves, Stefano Coletti and Luca Filippi. Chaves has competed at IMS in Indy Lights, while Coletti won a Formula BMW USA race on the IMS road course in 2006.

Five drivers have a chance to become the first to win on both the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course and the famed 2.5-mile oval: Ryan Hunter-Reay, Tony Kanaan, Scott Dixon, Castroneves and Juan Pablo Montoya have all won the Indianapolis 500.

Kanaan, in the No. 10 NTT Data Chevrolet for Chip Ganassi Racing, will make his 238th consecutive start, which extends his Indy car-record streak that began in 2001 at Portland. Teammate Dixon has made 179 consecutive starts.

Tickets for today’s race are available at and the Speedway, the race will be televised on ABC at 3:30 p.m. ET. Here are some more fast facts:

Race distance: 82 laps / 200 miles

Push-to-pass parameters: 10 activations for 20 seconds each

Firestone tire allotment: Eight sets primary, three sets alternate

Twitter: @IMS @IndyCar, #GPofINDY, #IndyCar

2014 race winner: Simon Pagenaud

Radio broadcasts: Paul Page is the chief announcer alongside analyst Davey Hamilton. Qualifying and all Verizon IndyCar Series races are broadcast live on the Advance Auto Parts INDYCAR Radio Network, Sirius 212, XM 209,, and on the INDYCAR 15 app. Verizon IndyCar Series practice sessions are available on, and the INDYCAR 15 app.

INDYCAR 15 app: The Verizon INDYCAR 15 app has been enhanced with new features to keep fans in the know of the latest race-day action. Exclusive features of the INDYCAR 15 app for Verizon Wireless customers will stream live through the app and include interactive 3D Live View with real-time leaderboard and car telemetry to see where a fan's favorite driver is positioned, leaderboard with enhanced 2D marching ants and car telemetry, in-car camera video streams from cameras that move 360 degrees and driver-pit crew chatter as drivers talk strategy with their pit crews during the race.

Show More Show Less
Items 708 - 712 of 1,019