Celebration of Automobiles

Saturday, May 14, 2011


250 contestants were selected from entries submitted on IndianapolisMotorSpeedway.com for the Celebration of Automobiles. Many of the machines are award winners in Concours d’Elegance competition at such revered venues as Pebble Beach.

The cars are divided into two divisions, one a general collection and the other will present for the first time anywhere classic cars produced by the 24 manufacturers that competed in the first Indianapolis 500 Mile Race. Leading up to the race, a preview of the cars to be displayed can be found in the Official Blog of IndianapolisMotorSpeedway.com here.

In addition, the Marmon and Stutz Clubs will have their collections of classic automobiles on display numbering more than 100 additional cars, and a vintage collection of vintage racers will also be showcased that includes 1950’s roadsters, early rear engine cars from the 1960’s and race cars through the 1970’s, ‘80’s & 90’s to the present day.



Celebration of Automobiles Awards Dinner

The same evening of the Celebration of Automobiles, a team of judges headed by 1963 Indy 500 winner Parnelli Jones will reveal their choices for best of show in several categories at an elegant awards dinner, where several exquisite trophies will be presented to winning car owners.

Entertainment for the evening is featured by Indianapolis Motor Speedway Historian Donald Davidson interviewing several Indy 500 champions headed by Parnelli and three-time winner Johnny Rutherford. Numerous other veterans of the Indy 500 are expected to attend.

Tickets for dinner are $200 per person and can be picked up at the door the evening of the event. Mail checks payable to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway to: Celebration Awards Dinner, P.O. Box 24152, Speedway, IN 46224 or call (317) 492-6780.



Celebration of Automobiles Entrance Requirements 

The 100th Anniversary Indy 500 Celebration of Automobiles will be organized into six classifications broken down by the three early Indianapolis Motor Speedway track ownership eras: the "Carl Fisher Era" (1911-1927), the "Eddie Rickenbacker Era" (1928-1945) and the "Early Tony Hulman Era" (1946-1961). These three classifications will be applied to both the cars representing the 24 manufacturers that competed in the first Indy 500 and classic cars in general.
Specific to the manufacturers of the cars in the first Indy 500, any passenger car produced by those companies is eligible to participate in competition. Those brand names include: