IMS Winners Dixon, Johnson Lead All-America Team Nominees

Wednesday, November 19, 2008

Share |

Indianapolis 500 winner Scott Dixon and Allstate 400 at the Brickyard winner Jimmie Johnson are among the list of nominees for the 2008 Auto Racing All-America team.

Voting has started among more than 300 members of the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association for the prestigious All-America honors.

Two nominees from each of the seven categories will be named to the first team, to be honored at the annual AARWBA banquet Jan. 10 in Ontario, Calif. The winner of the Jerry Titus Award, presented to the driver earning the most votes overall, will also be announced at the banquet.

Dixon, who also won the 2008 IndyCar Series championship, is among the six nominees in the Open Wheel category. Others include Indianapolis 500 winners Helio Castroneves and Dan Wheldon, 2005 Indianapolis 500 Chase Rookie of the Year Danica Patrick, and "500" veterans Tony Kanaan and Ryan Briscoe.

Johnson, who won his third consecutive Sprint Cup championship in 2008, is among the favorites in the Stock Car category. Other nominees include Allstate 400 at the Brickyard veterans Kyle Busch, Greg Biffle, Clint Bowyer and Carl Edwards, and NASCAR Nationwide standout Brad Keselowski.

Nominees also were named in Road Racing, Drag Racing, Short Track, Touring Series and At Large categories.

AARWBA members annually have selected an All-America Auto Racing Team since 1970. The banquet is open to the public. Ticket information is available from AARWBA, 922 N. Pass Ave., Burbank, Calif. 91505, or call (818) 842-7005.


2009 IMS tickets: Tickets for the three events in 2009 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway - the 93rd Indianapolis 500, 16th Allstate 400 at the Brickyard and second Red Bull Indianapolis GP - can be ordered online at at any time.