News & Multimedia

Record Number Of Dates On Popular IMS 'Grounds Tour' In 2013

The popular Grounds Tour program offered by the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum continues to expand in 2013, offering a record 125 dates between March and December.
   
Tickets are available for the Grounds Tour, a great opportunity to entertain family, friends or clients with a 90-minute tour rich in IMS history and landmarks.

Knowledgeable Hall of Fame Museum staff members serve as hosts for the Grounds Tour, providing tour participants with a narrated historical journey through the decades at the “Racing Capital of the World” along with visits to notable IMS landmarks normally open only to officials, drivers and teams during events.

Grounds Tour guests will visit the timing-and-scoring suite in the Pagoda, the Media Center, Victory Podium, Gasoline Alley garage area and the world-famous “Yard of Bricks” at the start/finish line where guests may step onto the “Yard of Bricks” and take photos.

Guests also will tour the Hall of Fame Museum and enjoy a ride around the famed 2.5-mile IMS oval in one of the Museum’s comfortable tour buses, culminating with a stop at the “Yard of Bricks.”

The 2013 Grounds Tour schedule gets underway Saturday, March 2 and continues on select weekdays and weekends through Saturday, Dec. 14. Tours are scheduled to depart from the Hall of Fame Museum four times per day on scheduled tour days: 9:30 a.m., 11:15 a.m., 1:15 p.m. and 3 p.m. (ET).

Times and dates of every Grounds Tour are subject to change.

The Hall of Fame Museum is located in the IMS infield, just inside the main gate (Gate 2) off 16th Street. Tickets for the tour also include admission to the Museum and are $25 for adults, $10 for youth ages 6-15 and free for children age 5 and younger. Cash, travelers’ checks, personal checks, Visa or MasterCard are accepted for Grounds Tour tickets.

On Monday, May 27, the day after the Indianapolis 500, Grounds Tours will be available from noon-5 p.m. The Tour includes Museum admission and a track lap that includes the opportunity to get off the bus at the “Yard of Bricks.” Tickets are $20 for adults, $10 for youth ages 6-15 and free for children age 5 and younger. The same tour will be available from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday, July 29, the day after the Crown Royal Presents the “Your Hero’s Name Here” 400 at the Brickyard.

Grounds Tour tickets and information are available by contacting Mary Geiss at the Hall of Fame Museum office at (317) 492-6747 or mgeiss@brickyard.com. Tickets also will be available for purchase at the Museum, but space is limited and tours often sell out.
Special arrangements can be made for groups of 20 persons or more on dates other than those scheduled for a Grounds Tour. Call the Hall of Fame Museum office at (317) 492-6747 for details.

2013 IMS HALL OF FAME MUSEUM GROUNDS TOUR SCHEDULE


 
March
Saturday, March 2
Tuesday, March 5
Wednesday, March 6
Thursday, March 7
Friday, March 8
Saturday, March 9
Thursday, March 14
Friday, March 15
Saturday, March 16
Sunday, March 17
Thursday, March 21
Friday, March 22
Saturday, March 23
Sunday, March 24
Thursday, March 28
Friday, March 29
Saturday, March 30
Sunday, March 31

April
Monday, April 1
Tuesday, April 2
Wednesday, April 3
Thursday, April 4
Friday, April 5
Saturday, April 6
Sunday, April 7
Wednesday, April 10
Saturday, April 13
Sunday, April 14
Monday, April 15
Tuesday, April 16
Wednesday, April 17
Thursday, April 18
Monday, April 22
Tuesday April 23
Friday, April 26
Sunday, April 28

May
Sunday, May 5
Tuesday, May 7
Wednesday, May 8
Monday, May 27

June
Saturday, June 1
Sunday, June 2
Monday, June 3
Tuesday, June 4
Wednesday, June 5
Thursday, June 6
Friday, June 7
Sunday, June 9
Monday, June 10
Tuesday, June 11
Wednesday, June 12
Thursday, June 13
Friday, June 14
Saturday, June 15
Sunday, June 16
Thursday, June 20
Friday, June 21
Saturday, June 22
Sunday, June 23
Monday, June 24
Tuesday, June 25
Wednesday, June 26

July
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Wednesday, July 3
Thursday, July 4
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Sunday, July 7
Monday, July 8
Tuesday, July 9
Wednesday, July 10
Monday, July 15
Tuesday, July 16
Thursday, July 18
Friday, July 19
Saturday, July 20
Sunday, July 21
Monday, July 29
Tuesday, July 30

August
Friday, Aug. 2
Saturday, Aug. 3
Sunday, Aug. 4
Monday, Aug. 5
Saturday, Aug. 24
Sunday, Aug. 25
Monday, Aug. 26
Tuesday, Aug. 27
Wednesday, Aug. 28
Thursday, Aug. 29
Friday, Aug. 30
Saturday, Aug. 31

September
Sunday, Sept. 1
Monday, Sept. 2
Saturday, Sept. 7
Sunday, Sept. 8
Friday, Sept. 13
Tuesday, Sept. 17
Wednesday, Sept. 18
Thursday, Sept. 19
Saturday, Sept. 28
Sunday, Sept. 29

October
Tuesday, Oct. 1
Wednesday, Oct. 16
Saturday, Oct. 19
Sunday, Oct. 20
Saturday, Oct. 26
Sunday, Oct. 27
Monday, Oct. 28
Thursday, Oct. 31

November
Friday, Nov. 1
Saturday, Nov. 2
Sunday, Nov. 3
Friday, Nov. 29
Saturday, Nov. 30

December
Tuesday, Dec. 3
Wednesday, Dec. 4
Thursday, Dec. 5
Friday, Dec. 6
Saturday, Dec. 7
Sunday, Dec. 8
Wednesday, Dec. 11
Thursday, Dec. 12
Friday, Dec. 13
Saturday, Dec. 14
 
 

Show More Show Less
Now Viewing
Record Number Of Dates On Popular IMS 'Grounds Tour' In 2013
 
Record Number Of Dates On Popular IMS 'Grounds Tour' In 2013
The popular Grounds Tour program offered by the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum continues to expand in 2013, offering a record 125 dates between March and December.
Read More
Related Media
The Rolling Stones
 
The Rolling Stones to Rock IMS July 4
The band has announced that they will kick off their new 15-city North American stadium, ZIP CODE tour, in San Diego on May 24 at Petco Park. The band will visit the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis on July 4.
Read More
Juan Pablo Montoya
 
Monday Racing Roundup: Montoya, Team Penske Make Opening Statement at St. Pete
Twenty-four hours before securing his 13th Indy car victory and first on a road/street course since Vancouver in his 1999 CART championship season, Juan Pablo Montoya was sizing up the Verizon IndyCar Series season.
Read More
Justin Wilson
 
Wilson Joins Andretti Autosport For Indianapolis 500 and Angie's List Grand Prix of Indianapolis
Justin Wilson will make his 2015 Verizon IndyCar Series debut in an Andretti Autosport car in the Angie's List Grand Prix of Indianapolis on May 9 and also compete in the 99th Running of the Indianapolis 500 on May 24, the team announced.
Read More
Ryan Hunter-Reay
 
Verizon IndyCar Series Kicks Off This Weekend in St. Petersburg
It’s a dawn of a new era for the Verizon IndyCar Series this weekend as aero kits enter the sport’s lexicon. Years of work by IndyCar engine suppliers Chevrolet and Honda have resulted in new bodywork that not only provides different looks for fans to identify each brand, but has also raised the performance index of the 24 cars on the St. Petersburg grid.
Read More
Tamika Catchings
 
Indiana Fever Star Catchings Joins Contest Winners in Traditional Flag Placing Cermony at IMS
Three-time Olympic gold medalist and Indiana Fever standout basketball player Tamika Catchings and two local radio contest winners participated in the traditional placement of racing flags atop the famous Wing and Wheel logo located above the Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s Gate 1.
Read More
Items 1 - 5 of 901
Reserve one of our hospitality suites for your next event!
To start planning your event at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway please fill out our Information Request Form or contact Laura Wyamn at (317) 492-8557 or email at lwyman@brickyard.com.
Latest Tweets
We've hit 100K followers on @Twitter! Here's a special message and offer from us to you as a thank you! https://t.co/0YS29fHoJy
about 2 hours ago