News & Multimedia

Record Number Of Dates On Popular IMS 'Grounds Tour' In 2013

The popular Grounds Tour program offered by the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum continues to expand in 2013, offering a record 125 dates between March and December.
   
Tickets are available for the Grounds Tour, a great opportunity to entertain family, friends or clients with a 90-minute tour rich in IMS history and landmarks.

Knowledgeable Hall of Fame Museum staff members serve as hosts for the Grounds Tour, providing tour participants with a narrated historical journey through the decades at the “Racing Capital of the World” along with visits to notable IMS landmarks normally open only to officials, drivers and teams during events.

Grounds Tour guests will visit the timing-and-scoring suite in the Pagoda, the Media Center, Victory Podium, Gasoline Alley garage area and the world-famous “Yard of Bricks” at the start/finish line where guests may step onto the “Yard of Bricks” and take photos.

Guests also will tour the Hall of Fame Museum and enjoy a ride around the famed 2.5-mile IMS oval in one of the Museum’s comfortable tour buses, culminating with a stop at the “Yard of Bricks.”

The 2013 Grounds Tour schedule gets underway Saturday, March 2 and continues on select weekdays and weekends through Saturday, Dec. 14. Tours are scheduled to depart from the Hall of Fame Museum four times per day on scheduled tour days: 9:30 a.m., 11:15 a.m., 1:15 p.m. and 3 p.m. (ET).

Times and dates of every Grounds Tour are subject to change.

The Hall of Fame Museum is located in the IMS infield, just inside the main gate (Gate 2) off 16th Street. Tickets for the tour also include admission to the Museum and are $25 for adults, $10 for youth ages 6-15 and free for children age 5 and younger. Cash, travelers’ checks, personal checks, Visa or MasterCard are accepted for Grounds Tour tickets.

On Monday, May 27, the day after the Indianapolis 500, Grounds Tours will be available from noon-5 p.m. The Tour includes Museum admission and a track lap that includes the opportunity to get off the bus at the “Yard of Bricks.” Tickets are $20 for adults, $10 for youth ages 6-15 and free for children age 5 and younger. The same tour will be available from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday, July 29, the day after the Crown Royal Presents the “Your Hero’s Name Here” 400 at the Brickyard.

Grounds Tour tickets and information are available by contacting Mary Geiss at the Hall of Fame Museum office at (317) 492-6747 or mgeiss@brickyard.com. Tickets also will be available for purchase at the Museum, but space is limited and tours often sell out.
Special arrangements can be made for groups of 20 persons or more on dates other than those scheduled for a Grounds Tour. Call the Hall of Fame Museum office at (317) 492-6747 for details.

2013 IMS HALL OF FAME MUSEUM GROUNDS TOUR SCHEDULE


 
March
Saturday, March 2
Tuesday, March 5
Wednesday, March 6
Thursday, March 7
Friday, March 8
Saturday, March 9
Thursday, March 14
Friday, March 15
Saturday, March 16
Sunday, March 17
Thursday, March 21
Friday, March 22
Saturday, March 23
Sunday, March 24
Thursday, March 28
Friday, March 29
Saturday, March 30
Sunday, March 31

April
Monday, April 1
Tuesday, April 2
Wednesday, April 3
Thursday, April 4
Friday, April 5
Saturday, April 6
Sunday, April 7
Wednesday, April 10
Saturday, April 13
Sunday, April 14
Monday, April 15
Tuesday, April 16
Wednesday, April 17
Thursday, April 18
Monday, April 22
Tuesday April 23
Friday, April 26
Sunday, April 28

May
Sunday, May 5
Tuesday, May 7
Wednesday, May 8
Monday, May 27

June
Saturday, June 1
Sunday, June 2
Monday, June 3
Tuesday, June 4
Wednesday, June 5
Thursday, June 6
Friday, June 7
Sunday, June 9
Monday, June 10
Tuesday, June 11
Wednesday, June 12
Thursday, June 13
Friday, June 14
Saturday, June 15
Sunday, June 16
Thursday, June 20
Friday, June 21
Saturday, June 22
Sunday, June 23
Monday, June 24
Tuesday, June 25
Wednesday, June 26

July
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Wednesday, July 3
Thursday, July 4
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Sunday, July 7
Monday, July 8
Tuesday, July 9
Wednesday, July 10
Monday, July 15
Tuesday, July 16
Thursday, July 18
Friday, July 19
Saturday, July 20
Sunday, July 21
Monday, July 29
Tuesday, July 30

August
Friday, Aug. 2
Saturday, Aug. 3
Sunday, Aug. 4
Monday, Aug. 5
Saturday, Aug. 24
Sunday, Aug. 25
Monday, Aug. 26
Tuesday, Aug. 27
Wednesday, Aug. 28
Thursday, Aug. 29
Friday, Aug. 30
Saturday, Aug. 31

September
Sunday, Sept. 1
Monday, Sept. 2
Saturday, Sept. 7
Sunday, Sept. 8
Friday, Sept. 13
Tuesday, Sept. 17
Wednesday, Sept. 18
Thursday, Sept. 19
Saturday, Sept. 28
Sunday, Sept. 29

October
Tuesday, Oct. 1
Wednesday, Oct. 16
Saturday, Oct. 19
Sunday, Oct. 20
Saturday, Oct. 26
Sunday, Oct. 27
Monday, Oct. 28
Thursday, Oct. 31

November
Friday, Nov. 1
Saturday, Nov. 2
Sunday, Nov. 3
Friday, Nov. 29
Saturday, Nov. 30

December
Tuesday, Dec. 3
Wednesday, Dec. 4
Thursday, Dec. 5
Friday, Dec. 6
Saturday, Dec. 7
Sunday, Dec. 8
Wednesday, Dec. 11
Thursday, Dec. 12
Friday, Dec. 13
Saturday, Dec. 14
 
 

Show More Show Less
Now Viewing
Record Number Of Dates On Popular IMS 'Grounds Tour' In 2013
 
Record Number Of Dates On Popular IMS 'Grounds Tour' In 2013
The popular Grounds Tour program offered by the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum continues to expand in 2013, offering a record 125 dates between March and December.
Read More
Related Media
Graham Rahal
 
Monday Racing Roundup: Rahal Thrills Ohio Fans, Inches Closer to Montoya
Rahal's surge in the second half of the Verizon IndyCar Series season continued with his second win in five weeks. Rahal, who started 13th in the 90-lap race in the No. 15 Steak 'n Shake Honda for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, closed to nine points of Verizon IndyCar Series championship front-runner Juan Pablo Montoya with two races left in the season. There are 10 entries mathematically eligible for the title.
Read More
Josef Newgarden
 
Newgarden Looks to Continue Upward Mobility at Mid-Ohio
Josef Newgarden made a lot of new fans last year at Mid-Ohio. The third-year IndyCar driver came tantalizingly close to earning his first Verizon IndyCar Series win, and if it weren’t for a problematic final pit stop, the Tennessee native could have gone on to victory for the upstart Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing team.
Read More
Sherwin-Williams
 
Sherwin-Williams Joins IMS, INDYCAR as Official Partner in Multi-Year Agreement
Sherwin-Williams, an industry leader in paint and coatings, will serve as the Official Paint and Finishing Partner of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, INDYCAR, the Verizon IndyCar Series, Indianapolis 500 Mile Race, Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis and the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Crown Royal 400 at the Brickyard as part of a multi-year partnership agreement.
Read More
Ryan Hunter-Reay
 
Monday Racing Roundup: Hunter-Reay Tops All-American Podium at Iowa
Hunter-Reay prevailed by .5046 of a second to become the ninth different winner in 13 Verizon IndyCar Series races this season. Sunoco Rookie of the Year candidate Sage Karam finished a career-high third.
Read More
Ryan Hunter-Reay
 
Pruett's Preview: Iowa Corn 300 at Iowa Speedway
When Ryan Hunter-Reay thinks back to 2014, lasting memories come to mind. The 2012 Verizon IndyCar Series champion motored to his first win at the legendary Indianapolis 500 in May of 2014, adding his likeness to the famed Borg-Warner trophy and his name to the roster of open-wheel heroes who drove across the yard of bricks and into the history books.
Read More
Items 1 - 5 of 1,007
Reserve one of our hospitality suites for your next event!
To start planning your event at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway please fill out our Information Request Form or contact Laura Wyamn at (317) 492-8557 or email at lwyman@brickyard.com.
Latest Tweets
RT @ThatSamSmith: Print column. Went to @IMS for time trials. @marshallpruett took me to the wall. 230 mph two feet away. Gah. http://t.co/…
about 15 minutes ago