News & Multimedia

More Than Half Of 2012 IMS Grounds Tour Dates On Weekends
The Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum will continue its popular Grounds Tour in 2012, with 36 of the 66 dates on weekends or national holidays.
Tickets are available for the Grounds Tour, a great opportunity from March through November to entertain family, friends or clients with a 90-minute tour rich in IMS history and landmarks.
Knowledgeable Hall of Fame Museum staff members serve as hosts for the Grounds Tour, providing tour participants with a narrated historical journey through the decades at the “Racing Capital of the World” along with visits to notable IMS landmarks normally open only to officials, drivers and teams during events.
Grounds Tour guests will visit the timing-and-scoring suite in the Pagoda, the Media Center, Victory Podium, Gasoline Alley garage area and the world-famous “Yard of Bricks” at the start/finish line.
Guests also will tour the Hall of Fame Museum and enjoy a ride around the famed 2.5-mile IMS oval in one of the Museum’s comfortable tour buses, culminating with a stop at the “Yard of Bricks.”
Check for more details about the Grounds Tour.
The 2012 Grounds Tour schedule gets underway Thursday, March 1 and continues on select weekdays and weekends through Friday, Nov. 30. Tours are scheduled to depart from the Hall of Fame Museum four times per day on scheduled tour days: 9:30 a.m., 11:15 a.m., 1:15 p.m. and 3 p.m. (ET).
Times and dates of every Grounds Tour are subject to change.
The Hall of Fame Museum is located in the IMS infield, just inside the main gate (Gate 2) off 16th Street. Tickets for the tour also include admission to the Museum and are $25 for adults, $10 for youth ages 6-15 and free for children age 5 and younger. Cash, travelers’ checks, personal checks, Visa or MasterCard are accepted for Grounds Tour tickets.
Grounds Tour tickets and information are available by contacting Mary Geiss at the Hall of Fame Museum office at (317) 492-6747 or Tickets also will be available for purchase at the Museum, but space is limited and tours often sell out.
Special arrangements can be made for groups of 20 persons or more on dates other than those scheduled for a Grounds Tour. Call the Hall of Fame Museum office at (317) 492-6747 for details.
2012 IMS Hall of Fame MUSEUM Grounds Tour schedule

Thursday, March 1
Friday, March 2
Saturday, March 3
Sunday, March 4
Thursday, March 8
Friday, March 9
Saturday, March 10
Sunday, March 11
Friday, March 23
Saturday, March 24
Thursday, March 29
Friday, March 30
Saturday, March 31
Sunday, April 1
Friday, April 6
Saturday, April 7
Thursday, May 3
Friday, May 4
Sunday, May 6
Thursday, May 31
Saturday, June 2
Sunday, June 10
Saturday, June 16
Sunday, June 17
Saturday, June 23
Sunday, June 24
Saturday, June 30
Sunday, July 1
Wednesday, July 4
Saturday, July 14
Sunday, July 15
Monday, July 16
Wednesday, July 18
Thursday, July 19
Friday, July 20
Saturday, July 21
Sunday, July 22
Saturday, Aug. 4
Sunday, Aug. 5
Wednesday, Aug. 29
Thursday, Aug. 30
Friday, Aug. 31
Saturday, Sept. 1
Sunday, Sept. 2
Monday, Sept. 3
Thursday, Sept. 6
Friday, Sept. 7
Saturday, Sept. 8
Sunday, Oct. 7
Friday, Oct. 12
Saturday, Oct. 13
Sunday, Oct. 14
Saturday, Oct. 20
Sunday, Oct. 21
Monday, Oct. 22
Tuesday, Oct. 23
Wednesday, Oct. 24
Thursday, Oct. 25
Friday, Oct. 26
Saturday, Oct. 27
Sunday, Oct. 28
Friday, Nov. 23
Saturday, Nov. 24
Wednesday, Nov. 28
Thursday, Nov. 29
Friday, Nov. 30


2012 IMS tickets: Tickets for the three events at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in 2012 – the Indianapolis 500 on Sunday, May 27, the Super Weekend at the Brickyard from July 26-29 and the Red Bull Indianapolis GP from Aug. 17-19 – are on sale now.
Tickets can be purchased now by visiting, calling the IMS ticket office at (317) 492-6700 or (800) 822-INDY outside the Indianapolis area or visiting the ticket office at the IMS Administration Building at the corner of Georgetown Road and 16th Street. Ticket office and phone hours are 8 a.m.-5 p.m. (ET) Monday-Friday.
Show More Show Less
Now Viewing
More Than Half Of 2012 IMS Grounds Tour Dates On Weekends
More Than Half Of 2012 IMS Grounds Tour Dates On Weekends
The Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum will continue its popular Grounds Tour in 2012, with 36 of the 66 dates on weekends or national holidays.
Read More
Related Media
Gasoline Alley
Month of May Bronze Badges Now On Sale
One of the most treasured pieces of racing memorabilia and among the greatest entertainment values in sports, Indianapolis Motor Speedway Month of May Bronze Badges are on sale now just in time for the holiday season. Visit for purchasing information.
Read More
Miller Lite Carb day
Legendary Band Journey to Rock Miller Lite Carb Day over Historic 100th Running Indianapolis 500 Weekend
The historic 2016 Indianapolis 500 weekend, culminating with the 100th Running of the Greatest Spectacle in Racing, will kick off on Friday, May 27, with the legendary rock band Journey on Miller Lite Carb Day.
Read More
Hulman Terrace Club
New Hulman Terrace Club Offers Premium Seating for IMS Events
The Hulman Terrace Club, located on the outside of the front straightaway of the famed 2.5-mile oval past the exit of Turn 4, will feature more than 1,000 seats plus ADA-accessible seating for fans seeking a club option similar to what is offered at many other major U.S. stadiums. It’s the first new seating option at IMS in more than a decade and a key piece of the ongoing Project 100 initiative. Pre-sale registration is available here with tickets officially going on sale Dec. 1.
Read More
Stanley Cup and Borg-Warner Trophy
Borg-Warner Trophy and Stanley Cup Meet at Yard of Bricks
Two of the most iconic symbols of victory in sports - the Borg-Warner Trophy and the Stanley Cup - appeared together Thursday night for a photo session on the world famous Yard of Bricks at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The Stanley Cup appeared at IMS courtesy of the Indy Fuel, the ECHL affiliate of the National Hockey League Stanley Cup champion Chicago Blackhawks.
Read More
Tony Hulman and Wilbur Shaw
How Tony Hulman and Wilbur Shaw Rejuvenated IMS, 70 Years Ago
During the World War II years, the Shelbyville, Indiana-born three-time winner of the Indianapolis “500” had temporarily relocated to Akron, Ohio, for the purpose of heading up Firestone Tire and Rubber Company’s new aircraft division. He, along with all of the other race drivers, looked forward to the time when the war would end so that they could return to their first love: driving in the “500.”
Read More
Items 1 - 5 of 1,037
Reserve one of our hospitality suites for your next event!
To start planning your event at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway please fill out our Information Request Form or contact Laura Wyamn at (317) 492-8557 or email at
Latest Tweets
Win a VIP experience and ride the first 2 seater @IndyCar ride in 2016 at Indy New Year’s Eve celebration!
November 27