Brickyard 400 Fun Facts

  • Rick Mast won the pole for the inaugural Brickyard 400 in 1994. It was one of only four poles in his top-level NASCAR career.
  • Jeff Gordon became the first driver to win the Brickyard 400 and the NASCAR Sprint Cup season championship in the same year, 1998.
  • Tony Stewart won the Brickyard 400 in 2005 to become the first Indiana native to win a race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway since Wilbur Shaw captured the 1940 Indianapolis 500.
  • Jacques Villeneuve and Juan Pablo Montoya are the only two drivers to have competed in the Indianapolis 500, Brickyard 400, and United States Grand Prix.