On-Track Experiences

The Indy Racing Experience Driving Program gives each customer the chance to learn what it is like to drive a real IndyCar Series car that has competed in the famed Indianapolis 500. They’ll feel the rush of excitement as they follow a lead IndyCar Series car around the fabled Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Speeds are dependent upon each customer’s comfort level in the car.

The Indy Racing Experience Two-Seat Ride allows the passenger to experience speeds and g-forces previously available to only a handful of elite drivers. The purpose-built Dallara chassis allows a passenger to sit behind the driver, but in every other way, this is a true IndyCar Series car. The car is complete with an authentic racing engine that can power the car up to 180 mph.

A selected number of Indy Racing Experience days are available at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Call (888) 357-5002 or visit www.indyracingexperience.com for more information or to make reservations.

Watch a video of the Indy Racing Experience Two-Seat Ride at Indianapolis. It’s fast, furious, fun and loud!

MotoGP Track Laps

Customers who purchase reserved seats for the Red Bull Indianapolis GP have the option of taking a track lap on the Red Bull Indianapolis GP road course on Friday evening or Monday morning of the MotoGP weekend. If you and your friends, motorcycle club members or colleagues need to purchase tickets, view the MotoGP Reserved Seats benefits page to learn more or call the Group Sales team at (866) 221-8775 if you have any questions!

*Race tickets must be purchased prior to the event through via IMS to be eligible. Only eligible for customers who purchase reserved seats and are over 18 years old. Signed liability waiver is required plus all riders must wear a helmet and closed-toe shoes.

Miles Ahead Teen Driver Training

The Miles Ahead Teen Driving Intensive is a special instructional program conducted specifically for licensed teenage drivers and held exclusively at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Taught by professional racecar drivers from the Mazda Road to Indy and the IndyCar Series, teen drivers will receive professional, behind-the-wheel training in order to be better prepared for the hazards of driving on public roads.

On certain class dates you may combine your half-day Miles Ahead program with an IMS Grounds Tour, or an Indy Racing Experience Two-Seater Rider or Single-Seater IndyCar drive for the ultimate IMS family experience.

The Miles Ahead Teen Driving Intensive is conducted from early spring through late fall. You may register to attend on the company’s web site at www.bemilesahead.net

Grounds Tours

The Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum will continue its popular Grounds Tour in 2014. Tickets are available for the Grounds Tour, a great opportunity from March through November to entertain family, friends or clients with a 90-minute tour rich in IMS history and landmarks.

  • Knowledgeable Hall of Fame Museum staff members serve as hosts for the Grounds Tour, providing tour participants with a narrated historical journey through the decades at the “Racing Capital of the World” along with visits to notable IMS landmarks normally open only to officials, drivers and teams during events.
  • Grounds Tour guests will visit the timing-and-scoring suite in the Pagoda, the Media Center, Victory Podium, Gasoline Alley garage area and the world-famous “Yard of Bricks” at the start/finish line.
  • Guests also will tour the Hall of Fame Museum and enjoy a ride around the famed 2.5-mile IMS oval in one of the Museum’s comfortable tour buses, culminating with a stop at the “Yard of Bricks.”
  • The 2014 Grounds Tour schedule are listed below. Tours are scheduled to depart from the Hall of Fame Museum four times per day on scheduled tour days: 9:30 a.m., 11:15 a.m., 1:15 p.m. and 3 p.m. (ET).
  • Times and dates of every Grounds Tour are subject to change.

The Hall of Fame Museum is located in the IMS infield, just inside the main gate (Gate 2) off 16th Street. Tickets for the tour also include admission to the Museum and are $25 for adults, $10 for youth ages 6-15 and free for children age 5 and younger. Cash, travelers’ checks, personal checks, Visa, Discover or MasterCard are accepted for Grounds Tour tickets.

Grounds Tour tickets and information are available by contacting Mary Geiss at the Hall of Fame Museum office at (317) 492-6747 or mgeiss@brickyard.com. Tickets also will be available for purchase at the Museum, but space is limited and tours often sell out.

Special arrangements can be made for groups of 20 persons or more on dates other than those scheduled for a Grounds Tour. Call the Hall of Fame Museum office at (317) 492-6747 for details.

2014 IMS Hall of Fame Museum Grounds Tour Schedule

October

  • Wed. Oct. 1
  • Thurs. Oct. 2
  • Fri. Oct. 3
  • Fri. Oct. 10
  • Sat. Oct. 11
  • Sun. Oct. 12
  • Mon. Oct. 13
  • Tues. Oct. 14
  • Wed. Oct. 15
  • Thurs. Oct. 16
  • Fri. Oct. 17
  • Sat. Oct. 18
  • Sun. Oct. 19
  • Mon. Oct. 20
  • Tues. Oct. 21
  • Thurs. Oct. 23
  • Fri. Oct. 24
  • Sat. Oct. 25
  • Sun. Oct. 26
  • Mon. Oct. 27
  • Tues. Oct. 28
  • Wed. Oct. 29
  • Thurs. Oct. 30
  • Fri. Oct. 31

November

  • Sat. Nov. 1
  • Sun. Nov. 2
  • Fri. Nov. 7
  • Wed. Nov. 12
  • Thurs. Nov. 13
  • Fri. Nov. 14
  • Sat. Nov. 15
  • Sun. Nov. 16
  • Mon. Nov. 17
  • Fri. Nov. 28
  • Sat. Nov. 29

December

  • Thurs. Dec. 5
  • Fri. Dec. 6
  • Sat. Dec. 7
  • Tues. Dec. 10
  • Wed. Dec. 11
  • Thurs. Dec. 12
  • Fri. Dec. 13
Fun Fact #2
The first event at the IMS was a helium gas-filled balloon competition on Saturday, June 5, 1909.