News & Multimedia

Poring Through the Numbers

The IZOD IndyCar Series kindly provides the media with an end-of-season “Trackside” guide that compiles all the relevant box scores and statistics from the 2012 season.

It’s fascinating reading, even for a casual follower of the sport. And if you follow the action closely on a race-by-race basis, some interesting statistics really stand out.

Everyone knows that Ryan Hunter-Reay used a series-high four race victories to win the championship by three points over Will Power. But would you have guessed that Scott Dixon led three times as many laps?

Dixon led the IZOD IndyCar Series by running 456 laps at the front of the field, compared to 294 for championship runner-up Power and 153 for titlist Hunter-Reay. Power’s Penske Racing teammate Helio Castroneves led 265 laps.

But while Hunter-Reay converted his 153 laps in the lead into four race wins, Dixon won just twice – at Detroit and Mid-Ohio. It’s only the third time since 2001 that the driver who led the most laps didn’t win the championship, and the last time it happened (in 2009), Dixon was also the driver who led the most but came up short in the title sweepstakes.

In terms of the number of races led, Power was the series leader, having paced 10 of the 15 events. Dixon and Ryan Briscoe led nine each, followed by James Hinchcliffe with eight. Castroneves and four-time series champion Dario Franchitti led seven races apiece, while Hunter-Reay led just six – but again, turned four of them into race wins.

Dixon, who finished third in the championship, led the series with eight top-five finishes, besting the seven achieved by Hunter-Reay and Power. But Dixon’s fest-or-famine year left him ranked only fourth in top-10 finishes with nine – three fewer than achieved by Castroneves. As closely matched as their point totals ended up, it’s no surprise that Power and Hunter-Reay were tied with 10 top-10s each.

In a nice rebound from his troubled 2011 campaign in which he failed to finish seven races, Castroneves completed more laps than anyone in 2012. The reliability record of the Chevrolet-powered cars that the Penske team prepared for the Brazilian allowed him to complete 1,965 of a possible 1,968 laps. Rookie Simon Pagenaud came closest with 1,961 laps completed, followed by Ed Carpenter with 1,885.

Of the championship notables, Dixon was ninth on the list (1,775 laps); Hunter-Reay was 10th (1,722), Franchitti was 13th (1,678) and Power was a dismal 21st, finishing just 1,478 of 1,968 laps (75.1 percent).

The big hits came in three oval races in which Power crashed out: Indianapolis (Lap 79 of 200), Iowa (Lap 67/250) and Fontana (crashed on Lap 55; completed 66 of 250 laps).

Power was the clear leader with five pole positions, topping Franchitti with three, Briscoe with two and five drivers with one, including Hunter-Reay.

Power also led in another category that awards bonus points – most laps led in a given race. Power and Dixon each did that four times, earning them eight bonus points apiece. Hunter-Reay earned four bonus points for leading the most laps twice.

Despite scoring a series-high 13 bonus points, Power still came up three points short of Hunter-Reay in the championship. Where will the snake-bitten Power find the extra points he needs to finally win a title in 2013?

Show More Show Less
Now Viewing
Poring Through the Numbers
Poring Through the Numbers
Read More
Related Media
Ryan Hunter-Reay
Hunter-Reay Still Encouraged Despite Speed Arriving One Day Too Late
Ryan Hunter-Reay delivered a four-lap qualifying performance that was exceptionally quick and inspired roars from the crowd Sunday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. But it came a day too late. And the no-nonsense Hunter-Reay didn’t mince words on where he stood.
Read More
Fernando Alonso
Andretti Teamwork Gets Alonso On Track To Qualify Fifth
Alonso’s crew changed an engine in less than two hours, barely got the No. 29 McLaren-Honda-Andretti Honda to technical inspection in time, then watched the oval newcomer record the fifth-fastest four-lap average of the Fast Nine Shootout late this afternoon to secure a spot on the second row for the start of the 101st Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil.
Read More
Scott Dixon
Dixon Unleashes Fastest Run Since 1996 To Win Pole for 101st Indianapolis 500
Scott Dixon powered to the pole for the 101st Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil on Sunday with the fastest qualification run at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in 21 years. Dixon, from Auckland, New Zealand, produced the top run in the Fast Nine Shootout, turning a four-lap average of 232.164 mph in the No. 9 Chip Ganassi Racing Honda to earn his third Indianapolis 500 pole and the $100,000 Verizon P1 Award. He won from the pole in 2008 and also drove to the top spot in 2015, when he finished fourth.
Read More
James Davison
Davison Named to Fill In For Bourdais at Indianapolis 500
Dale Coyne Racing announced today that James Davison will replace injured Sebastien Bourdais in the No. 18 GEICO Honda for the 101st Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil. Davison, a 30-year-old Australian, has competed in two previous Indianapolis 500s, in 2014 with KV Racing Technology (finishing 16th) and in 2015 with Dale Coyne Racing (finishing 27th). The race two years ago was his last Verizon IndyCar Series start.
Read More
Fernando Alonso
Alonso Pleased to Qualify For Fast Nine Shootout
Fernando Alonso took to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway like a duck to water and will compete for the Verizon P1 Award in Sunday’s final round of qualifying for the 101st Running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil.
Read More
Items 1 - 5 of 2,590
Reserve one of our hospitality suites for your next event!
To start planning your event at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway please fill out our Information Request Form or contact IMS Sales Department at (317) 492-8739 or email at
Latest Tweets
It's Pole day on @CrownRoyal Armed Forces Weekend & we can't wait to see you! Check out details on the day:
May 21