Celebrate IMS Centennial Era With 2009 'Grounds Tour'

Monday, January 19, 2009

Share |

At a venue where history has been made for a century, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway's Hall of Fame Museum will in 2009 set a record for the most behind-the-scenes Grounds Tours in a season.

The Museum's popular Grounds Tour, which provides a great opportunity to entertain family, friends or clients with a 90-minute tour rich in IMS history and landmarks, will take place on a record 68 days in 2009. Tickets are available now.

This year also marks the start of the Speedway's Centennial Era celebrations, marking the 100th anniversary of the Speedway's founding in 1909 and the 100th anniversary of the inaugural Indianapolis 500 in 1911.

Knowledgeable Hall of Fame Museum staff members serve as hosts for the Grounds Tours, providing customers with a narrated historical journey through the decades at the "Racing Capital of the World" along with visits to notable IMS landmarks normally open only to officials, drivers and teams during events.

Grounds Tour guests will visit the timing-and-scoring suite in the Pagoda, the Media Center, Victory Podium, Gasoline Alley garage area and the world-famous "Yard of Bricks" at the start/finish line.

Guests also will tour the Hall of Fame Museum and enjoy a ride around the famed 2.5-mile IMS oval in one of the Museum's comfortable tour buses, culminating with an opportunity to stop at the "Yard of Bricks" and pose for photographs.

2009 Grounds Tours get underway in March and continue on select weekdays and weekends through Thanksgiving weekend. Tours are scheduled to depart from the Hall of Fame Museum four times per day on scheduled tour days: 9:30 a.m., 11:15 a.m., 1:15 p.m. and 3 p.m. (ET).

The Hall of Fame Museum is located in the IMS infield, just inside the main gate (Gate 2) off 16th Street. Tickets for the tour also include admission to the Museum and are $25 for adults, $10 for youth ages 6-15 and free for children age 5 and younger. Cash, travelers' checks, personal checks, Visa or MasterCard are accepted for Grounds Tour tickets.

Grounds Tour tickets and information are available by contacting Mary Geiss at the Hall of Fame Museum office at (317) 492-6747 or mgeiss@brickyard.com. Tickets also will be available for purchase at the Museum, but space is limited and tours often sell out.

Special arrangements can be made for groups of 20 persons or more on dates other than those scheduled for Grounds Tours. Call the Hall of Fame Museum office at (317) 492-6747 for details.

2009 IMS Hall of Fame Museum Grounds Tour schedule

(Dates subject to change)

March

June (cont.)

July (cont.) October (cont.)

Thursday, March 12

Sunday, June 14

Sunday, July 19

Thursday, Oct. 22

Friday, March 13

Saturday, June 20

Wednesday, July 29

Friday, Oct. 23

Saturday, March 14

Sunday, June 21

Thursday, July 30

Saturday, Oct. 24

Sunday, March 15

Friday, June 26

Friday, July 31

Sunday, Oct. 25

Friday, March 27

Saturday, June 27

   

Saturday, March 28

Sunday, June 28

August

November

Sunday, March 29

Monday, June 29

Saturday, Aug. 1

Thursday, Nov. 5

 

Tuesday, June 30

Sunday, Aug. 2

Friday, Nov. 6

April

   

Saturday, Nov. 7

Friday, April 3

July

September

Thursday, Nov. 12
Saturday, April 4

Wednesday, July 1

Saturday, Sept. 5

Friday, Nov. 13
Sunday, April 5

Thursday, July 2

Sunday, Sept. 6

Saturday, Nov. 14

Monday, April 6

Friday, July 3

Monday, Sept. 7

Sunday, Nov. 15
Friday, April 10

Saturday, July 4

Saturday, Sept. 12

Friday, Nov. 27

Saturday, April 11

Sunday, July 5

Sunday, Sept. 13

Saturday, Nov. 28

Thursday, April 23

Monday, July 6

Monday, Sept. 14

 

Friday, April 24

Tuesday, July 7

Tuesday, Sept. 15

December

Saturday, April 25

Wednesday, July 8

Wednesday, Sept. 16

Tuesday, Dec. 1
 

Thursday, July 9

  Wednesday, Dec. 2

May

Friday, July 10