Five 2008 IMS Competitors Earn First Team All-America Honors

Thursday, December 04, 2008

Share |

Five drivers who raced this season at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, including two event winners, were named to the 2008 Auto Racing All-America First Team.

2008 Indianapolis 500 winner Scott Dixon and 2008 Allstate 400 at the Brickyard winner Jimmie Johnson lead the first team in the Open Wheel and Stock Car categories, respectively. Two-time Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves joined Dixon on the Open Wheel first team, while 2008 Allstate 400 at the Brickyard runner-up Carl Edwards also was named to the Stock Car first team.

2008 Firestone Indy Lights champion Raphael Matos earned first-team honors in the At Large category. Matos finished 10th in the Firestone Freedom 100 this year at IMS.

More than 300 members of the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association voted to determine the prestigious All-America honors.

Members of the first team in each of the seven categories will be honored at the annual AARWBA banquet Jan. 10 in Ontario, Calif. The winner of the Jerry Titus Award, presented to the driver earning the most votes overall, will also be announced at the banquet.

AARWBA members annually have selected an All-America Auto Racing Team since 1970. The banquet is open to the public. Ticket information is available from AARWBA, 922 N. Pass Ave., Burbank, Calif. 91505, or call (818) 842-7005.


2009 IMS tickets: Tickets for the three events in 2009 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway - the 93rd Indianapolis 500, 16th Allstate 400 at the Brickyard and second Red Bull Indianapolis GP - can be ordered online at at any time.