News & Multimedia

Get Inside Access To IMS Through Popular 'Grounds Tour' In 2010

The Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum will continue its Grounds Tours in 2010 with a full schedule of dates from March through November.

Tickets are available now for the Museum's popular Grounds Tour, which provides a great opportunity to entertain family, friends or clients with a 90-minute tour rich in IMS history and landmarks.

This year continues the Speedway's Centennial Era celebrations, marking the 100th anniversary of the Speedway's founding in 1909 and the 100th anniversary of the inaugural Indianapolis 500 in 1911.

Knowledgeable Hall of Fame Museum staff members serve as hosts for the Grounds Tours, providing tour participants with a narrated historical journey through the decades at the "Racing Capital of the World" along with visits to notable IMS landmarks normally open only to officials, drivers and teams during events.

Grounds Tour guests will visit the timing-and-scoring suite in the Pagoda, the Media Center, Victory Podium, Gasoline Alley garage area and the world-famous "Yard of Bricks" at the start/finish line.

Guests also will tour the Hall of Fame Museum and enjoy a ride around the famed 2.5-mile IMS oval in one of the Museum's comfortable tour buses, culminating with a stop at the "Yard of Bricks."

Sixty-three total dates are set for March, April, May, June, July, August and September. Dates for October and November will be added soon. Check www.indianapolismotorspeedway.com for more details.

2010 Grounds Tours get underway March 4 and continue on select weekdays and weekends. Tours are scheduled to depart from the Hall of Fame Museum four times per day on scheduled tour days: 9:30 a.m., 11:15 a.m., 1:15 p.m. and 3 p.m. (ET).

Times and dates of all Grounds Tours are subject to change.

The Hall of Fame Museum is located in the IMS infield, just inside the main gate (Gate 2) off 16th Street. Tickets for the tour also include admission to the Museum and are $25 for adults, $10 for youth ages 6-15 and free for children age 5 and younger. Cash, travelers' checks, personal checks, Visa or MasterCard are accepted for Grounds Tour tickets.

Grounds Tour tickets and information are available by contacting Mary Geiss at the Hall of Fame Museum office at (317) 492-6747 or mgeiss@brickyard.com. Tickets also will be available for purchase at the Museum, but space is limited and tours often sell out.

Special arrangements can be made for groups of 20 persons or more on dates other than those scheduled for Grounds Tours. Call the Hall of Fame Museum office at (317) 492-6747 for details.

2010 IMS Hall of Fame Museum Grounds Tour schedule

(Dates subject to change; dates to be added for October, November)

March

Thursday, March 4

Friday, March 5

Saturday, March 6

Sunday, March 7

Thursday, March 11

Friday, March 12

Saturday, March 13

Sunday, March 14

Friday, March 19

Saturday, March 20

Sunday, March 21

Friday, March 26

Saturday, March 27

Sunday, March 28

 

April

Thursday, April 1

Friday, April 2

Saturday, April 3

Sunday, April 4

Thursday, April 22

Friday, April 23

 

May

Saturday, May 1

Sunday, May 2

 

June

Saturday, June 5

Monday, June 7

Thursday, June 10

Friday, June 11

Sunday, June 13

Monday, June 28

Tuesday, June 29

Wednesday, June 30

 

July

Thursday, July 1

Show More Show Less
Now Viewing
IMS
 
Get Inside Access To IMS Through Popular 'Grounds Tour' In 2010
The Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum will continue its Grounds Tours in 2010 with a full schedule of dates from March through November. Tickets are available now for the Museum's popular Grounds Tour, which provides a great opportunity to entertain family, friends or clients with a 90-minute tour rich in IMS history and landmarks. Click the Read More link to see the dates!
Read More
Related Media
Josef Newgarden
 
Monday Racing Roundup: Newgarden Scores First Win at Barber
Newgarden, driving the No. 67 Hartman Oil CFH Racing Chevrolet, is the fourth different winner in as many races this season. This was the first victory since the merger of Ed Carpenter Racing and Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing and the team's sixth win overall.
Read More
Josef Newgarden
 
Newgarden Victorious for First Time in Alabama
The steely 24-year-old Tennessee native "drove my race," maintaining his line in the No. 67 Hartman Oil CFH Racing Chevrolet and keeping his foot to the floor on the 2.3-mile, 17-turn Barber Motorsports Park road course to claim his first Verizon IndyCar Series victory in his 55th start.
Read More
Juan Pablo Montoya
 
Pruett's Preview: Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama
Team Penske’s Juan Montoya not only leads the Verizon IndyCar Series point standings heading into this weekend’s Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama, he also leads an interesting group of drivers who have taken over the top three spots in the championship.
Read More
Scott Dixon
 
Monday Racing Roundup: Dixon Lands 36th Career IndyCar Win at Long Beach
Dixon's first victory at Long Beach was his 36th overall, breaking a tie with Bobby Unser for fifth on the all-time Indy car list. Al Unser is fourth with 39 victories. It was the 98th Indy car victory for team owner Chip Ganassi.
Read More
Scott Dixon
 
Pruett's Preview: Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach
With two rounds complete and 14 left to run, drawing any significant conclusions on how certain drivers will fare in their quest for the Astor Cup would be premature, but it's hard to ignore some of the notable trends leading into this weekend's Toyota Grand Prix at Long Beach.
Read More
Items 1 - 5 of 233
Reserve one of our hospitality suites for your next event!
To start planning your event at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway please fill out our Information Request Form or contact Laura Wyamn at (317) 492-8557 or email at lwyman@brickyard.com.
Latest Tweets
1 picture, 100 words on The Blog: Capturing the action at last year’s @AngiesList #GPofINDY. Get your tickets today! http://t.co/wBJkd9tnxx
about 7 hours ago