News & Multimedia

Record Number Of Dates On Popular IMS 'Grounds Tour' In 2013

The popular Grounds Tour program offered by the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum continues to expand in 2013, offering a record 125 dates between March and December.
Tickets are available for the Grounds Tour, a great opportunity to entertain family, friends or clients with a 90-minute tour rich in IMS history and landmarks.

Knowledgeable Hall of Fame Museum staff members serve as hosts for the Grounds Tour, providing tour participants with a narrated historical journey through the decades at the “Racing Capital of the World” along with visits to notable IMS landmarks normally open only to officials, drivers and teams during events.

Grounds Tour guests will visit the timing-and-scoring suite in the Pagoda, the Media Center, Victory Podium, Gasoline Alley garage area and the world-famous “Yard of Bricks” at the start/finish line where guests may step onto the “Yard of Bricks” and take photos.

Guests also will tour the Hall of Fame Museum and enjoy a ride around the famed 2.5-mile IMS oval in one of the Museum’s comfortable tour buses, culminating with a stop at the “Yard of Bricks.”

The 2013 Grounds Tour schedule gets underway Saturday, March 2 and continues on select weekdays and weekends through Saturday, Dec. 14. Tours are scheduled to depart from the Hall of Fame Museum four times per day on scheduled tour days: 9:30 a.m., 11:15 a.m., 1:15 p.m. and 3 p.m. (ET).

Times and dates of every Grounds Tour are subject to change.

The Hall of Fame Museum is located in the IMS infield, just inside the main gate (Gate 2) off 16th Street. Tickets for the tour also include admission to the Museum and are $25 for adults, $10 for youth ages 6-15 and free for children age 5 and younger. Cash, travelers’ checks, personal checks, Visa or MasterCard are accepted for Grounds Tour tickets.

On Monday, May 27, the day after the Indianapolis 500, Grounds Tours will be available from noon-5 p.m. The Tour includes Museum admission and a track lap that includes the opportunity to get off the bus at the “Yard of Bricks.” Tickets are $20 for adults, $10 for youth ages 6-15 and free for children age 5 and younger. The same tour will be available from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday, July 29, the day after the Crown Royal Presents the “Your Hero’s Name Here” 400 at the Brickyard.

Grounds Tour tickets and information are available by contacting Mary Geiss at the Hall of Fame Museum office at (317) 492-6747 or Tickets also will be available for purchase at the Museum, but space is limited and tours often sell out.
Special arrangements can be made for groups of 20 persons or more on dates other than those scheduled for a Grounds Tour. Call the Hall of Fame Museum office at (317) 492-6747 for details.


Saturday, March 2
Tuesday, March 5
Wednesday, March 6
Thursday, March 7
Friday, March 8
Saturday, March 9
Thursday, March 14
Friday, March 15
Saturday, March 16
Sunday, March 17
Thursday, March 21
Friday, March 22
Saturday, March 23
Sunday, March 24
Thursday, March 28
Friday, March 29
Saturday, March 30
Sunday, March 31

Monday, April 1
Tuesday, April 2
Wednesday, April 3
Thursday, April 4
Friday, April 5
Saturday, April 6
Sunday, April 7
Wednesday, April 10
Saturday, April 13
Sunday, April 14
Monday, April 15
Tuesday, April 16
Wednesday, April 17
Thursday, April 18
Monday, April 22
Tuesday April 23
Friday, April 26
Sunday, April 28

Sunday, May 5
Tuesday, May 7
Wednesday, May 8
Monday, May 27

Saturday, June 1
Sunday, June 2
Monday, June 3
Tuesday, June 4
Wednesday, June 5
Thursday, June 6
Friday, June 7
Sunday, June 9
Monday, June 10
Tuesday, June 11
Wednesday, June 12
Thursday, June 13
Friday, June 14
Saturday, June 15
Sunday, June 16
Thursday, June 20
Friday, June 21
Saturday, June 22
Sunday, June 23
Monday, June 24
Tuesday, June 25
Wednesday, June 26

Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Wednesday, July 3
Thursday, July 4
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Sunday, July 7
Monday, July 8
Tuesday, July 9
Wednesday, July 10
Monday, July 15
Tuesday, July 16
Thursday, July 18
Friday, July 19
Saturday, July 20
Sunday, July 21
Monday, July 29
Tuesday, July 30

Friday, Aug. 2
Saturday, Aug. 3
Sunday, Aug. 4
Monday, Aug. 5
Saturday, Aug. 24
Sunday, Aug. 25
Monday, Aug. 26
Tuesday, Aug. 27
Wednesday, Aug. 28
Thursday, Aug. 29
Friday, Aug. 30
Saturday, Aug. 31

Sunday, Sept. 1
Monday, Sept. 2
Saturday, Sept. 7
Sunday, Sept. 8
Friday, Sept. 13
Tuesday, Sept. 17
Wednesday, Sept. 18
Thursday, Sept. 19
Saturday, Sept. 28
Sunday, Sept. 29

Tuesday, Oct. 1
Wednesday, Oct. 16
Saturday, Oct. 19
Sunday, Oct. 20
Saturday, Oct. 26
Sunday, Oct. 27
Monday, Oct. 28
Thursday, Oct. 31

Friday, Nov. 1
Saturday, Nov. 2
Sunday, Nov. 3
Friday, Nov. 29
Saturday, Nov. 30

Tuesday, Dec. 3
Wednesday, Dec. 4
Thursday, Dec. 5
Friday, Dec. 6
Saturday, Dec. 7
Sunday, Dec. 8
Wednesday, Dec. 11
Thursday, Dec. 12
Friday, Dec. 13
Saturday, Dec. 14

Show More Show Less
Now Viewing
Record Number Of Dates On Popular IMS 'Grounds Tour' In 2013
Record Number Of Dates On Popular IMS 'Grounds Tour' In 2013
The popular Grounds Tour program offered by the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum continues to expand in 2013, offering a record 125 dates between March and December.
Read More
Related Media
Kyle Busch
Monday Racing Roundup: Kyle Busch Wins NASCAR Sprint Cup Title at Homestead
Finishing off one of the most remarkable comebacks in NASCAR history—indeed, in the annals of sport—Kyle Busch won Sunday’s Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway and, with it, his first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship.
Read More
Dale Earnhardt Jr.
Monday Racing Roundup: Championship Foursome Set
A serendipitous sequence of pit stops and a drizzle that turned into a downpour made a winner of Dale Earnhardt Jr. in Sunday night’s Quicken Loans Race for Heroes 500 at Phoenix International Raceway, the start of which was delayed from day to night by rain in the afternoon.
Read More
Hulman Terrace Club
New Hulman Terrace Club Offers Premium Seating for IMS Events
The Hulman Terrace Club, located on the outside of the front straightaway of the famed 2.5-mile oval past the exit of Turn 4, will feature more than 1,000 seats plus ADA-accessible seating for fans seeking a club option similar to what is offered at many other major U.S. stadiums. It’s the first new seating option at IMS in more than a decade and a key piece of the ongoing Project 100 initiative. Pre-sale registration is available here with tickets officially going on sale Dec. 1.
Read More
Jimmie Johnson
Monday Racing Roundup: Johnson Completes Texas Sweep
On Sunday, the six-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion completed a sweep of this year’s Texas Motor Speedway races, powering past hapless Brad Keselowski with three laps left to win the AAA Texas 500 for the fourth straight year.
Read More
Jeff Gordon
Monday Racing Roundup: Gordon Punches Ticket for Chase Finale
Long before Gordon held off Jamie McMurray in a two-lap run to the finish as darkness consumed the .526-mile short track, Kenseth ended polesitter Joey Logano’s remarkable run in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup by pile-driving Logano’s No. 22 Team Penske Ford, which was leading the race at the time, into the Turn 1 wall on Lap 454 of 500.
Read More
Items 1 - 5 of 664
Reserve one of our hospitality suites for your next event!
To start planning your event at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway please fill out our Information Request Form or contact Laura Wyamn at (317) 492-8557 or email at
Latest Tweets
Your favorite @IndyCar drivers tell us what is it they are thankful for on the IMS Blog -
about 22 minutes ago