News & Multimedia

Record Number Of Dates On Popular IMS 'Grounds Tour' In 2013

The popular Grounds Tour program offered by the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum continues to expand in 2013, offering a record 125 dates between March and December.
Tickets are available for the Grounds Tour, a great opportunity to entertain family, friends or clients with a 90-minute tour rich in IMS history and landmarks.

Knowledgeable Hall of Fame Museum staff members serve as hosts for the Grounds Tour, providing tour participants with a narrated historical journey through the decades at the “Racing Capital of the World” along with visits to notable IMS landmarks normally open only to officials, drivers and teams during events.

Grounds Tour guests will visit the timing-and-scoring suite in the Pagoda, the Media Center, Victory Podium, Gasoline Alley garage area and the world-famous “Yard of Bricks” at the start/finish line where guests may step onto the “Yard of Bricks” and take photos.

Guests also will tour the Hall of Fame Museum and enjoy a ride around the famed 2.5-mile IMS oval in one of the Museum’s comfortable tour buses, culminating with a stop at the “Yard of Bricks.”

The 2013 Grounds Tour schedule gets underway Saturday, March 2 and continues on select weekdays and weekends through Saturday, Dec. 14. Tours are scheduled to depart from the Hall of Fame Museum four times per day on scheduled tour days: 9:30 a.m., 11:15 a.m., 1:15 p.m. and 3 p.m. (ET).

Times and dates of every Grounds Tour are subject to change.

The Hall of Fame Museum is located in the IMS infield, just inside the main gate (Gate 2) off 16th Street. Tickets for the tour also include admission to the Museum and are $25 for adults, $10 for youth ages 6-15 and free for children age 5 and younger. Cash, travelers’ checks, personal checks, Visa or MasterCard are accepted for Grounds Tour tickets.

On Monday, May 27, the day after the Indianapolis 500, Grounds Tours will be available from noon-5 p.m. The Tour includes Museum admission and a track lap that includes the opportunity to get off the bus at the “Yard of Bricks.” Tickets are $20 for adults, $10 for youth ages 6-15 and free for children age 5 and younger. The same tour will be available from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday, July 29, the day after the Crown Royal Presents the “Your Hero’s Name Here” 400 at the Brickyard.

Grounds Tour tickets and information are available by contacting Mary Geiss at the Hall of Fame Museum office at (317) 492-6747 or Tickets also will be available for purchase at the Museum, but space is limited and tours often sell out.
Special arrangements can be made for groups of 20 persons or more on dates other than those scheduled for a Grounds Tour. Call the Hall of Fame Museum office at (317) 492-6747 for details.


Saturday, March 2
Tuesday, March 5
Wednesday, March 6
Thursday, March 7
Friday, March 8
Saturday, March 9
Thursday, March 14
Friday, March 15
Saturday, March 16
Sunday, March 17
Thursday, March 21
Friday, March 22
Saturday, March 23
Sunday, March 24
Thursday, March 28
Friday, March 29
Saturday, March 30
Sunday, March 31

Monday, April 1
Tuesday, April 2
Wednesday, April 3
Thursday, April 4
Friday, April 5
Saturday, April 6
Sunday, April 7
Wednesday, April 10
Saturday, April 13
Sunday, April 14
Monday, April 15
Tuesday, April 16
Wednesday, April 17
Thursday, April 18
Monday, April 22
Tuesday April 23
Friday, April 26
Sunday, April 28

Sunday, May 5
Tuesday, May 7
Wednesday, May 8
Monday, May 27

Saturday, June 1
Sunday, June 2
Monday, June 3
Tuesday, June 4
Wednesday, June 5
Thursday, June 6
Friday, June 7
Sunday, June 9
Monday, June 10
Tuesday, June 11
Wednesday, June 12
Thursday, June 13
Friday, June 14
Saturday, June 15
Sunday, June 16
Thursday, June 20
Friday, June 21
Saturday, June 22
Sunday, June 23
Monday, June 24
Tuesday, June 25
Wednesday, June 26

Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Wednesday, July 3
Thursday, July 4
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Sunday, July 7
Monday, July 8
Tuesday, July 9
Wednesday, July 10
Monday, July 15
Tuesday, July 16
Thursday, July 18
Friday, July 19
Saturday, July 20
Sunday, July 21
Monday, July 29
Tuesday, July 30

Friday, Aug. 2
Saturday, Aug. 3
Sunday, Aug. 4
Monday, Aug. 5
Saturday, Aug. 24
Sunday, Aug. 25
Monday, Aug. 26
Tuesday, Aug. 27
Wednesday, Aug. 28
Thursday, Aug. 29
Friday, Aug. 30
Saturday, Aug. 31

Sunday, Sept. 1
Monday, Sept. 2
Saturday, Sept. 7
Sunday, Sept. 8
Friday, Sept. 13
Tuesday, Sept. 17
Wednesday, Sept. 18
Thursday, Sept. 19
Saturday, Sept. 28
Sunday, Sept. 29

Tuesday, Oct. 1
Wednesday, Oct. 16
Saturday, Oct. 19
Sunday, Oct. 20
Saturday, Oct. 26
Sunday, Oct. 27
Monday, Oct. 28
Thursday, Oct. 31

Friday, Nov. 1
Saturday, Nov. 2
Sunday, Nov. 3
Friday, Nov. 29
Saturday, Nov. 30

Tuesday, Dec. 3
Wednesday, Dec. 4
Thursday, Dec. 5
Friday, Dec. 6
Saturday, Dec. 7
Sunday, Dec. 8
Wednesday, Dec. 11
Thursday, Dec. 12
Friday, Dec. 13
Saturday, Dec. 14

Show More Show Less
Now Viewing
Record Number Of Dates On Popular IMS 'Grounds Tour' In 2013
Record Number Of Dates On Popular IMS 'Grounds Tour' In 2013
The popular Grounds Tour program offered by the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum continues to expand in 2013, offering a record 125 dates between March and December.
Read More
Related Media
Kevin Harvick
Monday Racing Roundup: Harvick Advances With Clutch Win at Dover
Forced to win at Dover International Speedway to keep his NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship hopes alive Sunday, Kevin Harvick did just that, dominating Sunday’s AAA 400 to stave off elimination from the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup.
Read More
Tony Stewart
Stewart Officially Announces Retirement from Sprint Cup
Tony Stewart officially announced his retirement from NASCAR Sprint Cup racing after the 2016 season on Wednesday, saying the choice was “100 percent mine” and that he’s not done racing in other series.
Read More
Matt Kenseth
Monday Racing Roundup: Kenseth Wins as Harvick Runs Dry at N.H.
Kenseth, who came to pit road for fuel and tires on Lap 239, triumphed for the fifth time this season (tops in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series), for the second time at the Magic Mile and for the 36th time in his career. He finished 8.941 seconds ahead of Hamlin, who nursed his car to a runner-up finish despite a late-race issue with the right front wheel.
Read More
Denny Hamlin
Monday Racing Roundup: Hamlin Wins Chase Opener at Chicagoland
Hamlin’s first victory at Chicagoland, his second of the season and the 16th of his career ensured the driver of the No. 11 JGR Toyota will advance from the Challenger Round to the Contender Round of the Chase, as the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series heads to New Hampshire and the second race of the postseason.
Read More
NASCAR Green Award
IMS Wins Award for Solar Farm at NASCAR Green Summit
For more than 100 years, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway has stood for moving forward and breaking records. The IMS Solar Farm continues this tradition, and was recently recognized with an award at the NASCAR Green Summit.
Read More
Items 1 - 5 of 654
Reserve one of our hospitality suites for your next event!
To start planning your event at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway please fill out our Information Request Form or contact Laura Wyamn at (317) 492-8557 or email at
Latest Tweets
See IMS through the eyes of the best Instagramers, via @mashable and @ForzaMotorsport -
about 9 hours ago