News & Multimedia

More Than Half Of 2012 IMS Grounds Tour Dates On Weekends
The Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum will continue its popular Grounds Tour in 2012, with 36 of the 66 dates on weekends or national holidays.
Tickets are available for the Grounds Tour, a great opportunity from March through November to entertain family, friends or clients with a 90-minute tour rich in IMS history and landmarks.
Knowledgeable Hall of Fame Museum staff members serve as hosts for the Grounds Tour, providing tour participants with a narrated historical journey through the decades at the “Racing Capital of the World” along with visits to notable IMS landmarks normally open only to officials, drivers and teams during events.
Grounds Tour guests will visit the timing-and-scoring suite in the Pagoda, the Media Center, Victory Podium, Gasoline Alley garage area and the world-famous “Yard of Bricks” at the start/finish line.
Guests also will tour the Hall of Fame Museum and enjoy a ride around the famed 2.5-mile IMS oval in one of the Museum’s comfortable tour buses, culminating with a stop at the “Yard of Bricks.”
Check for more details about the Grounds Tour.
The 2012 Grounds Tour schedule gets underway Thursday, March 1 and continues on select weekdays and weekends through Friday, Nov. 30. Tours are scheduled to depart from the Hall of Fame Museum four times per day on scheduled tour days: 9:30 a.m., 11:15 a.m., 1:15 p.m. and 3 p.m. (ET).
Times and dates of every Grounds Tour are subject to change.
The Hall of Fame Museum is located in the IMS infield, just inside the main gate (Gate 2) off 16th Street. Tickets for the tour also include admission to the Museum and are $25 for adults, $10 for youth ages 6-15 and free for children age 5 and younger. Cash, travelers’ checks, personal checks, Visa or MasterCard are accepted for Grounds Tour tickets.
Grounds Tour tickets and information are available by contacting Mary Geiss at the Hall of Fame Museum office at (317) 492-6747 or Tickets also will be available for purchase at the Museum, but space is limited and tours often sell out.
Special arrangements can be made for groups of 20 persons or more on dates other than those scheduled for a Grounds Tour. Call the Hall of Fame Museum office at (317) 492-6747 for details.
2012 IMS Hall of Fame MUSEUM Grounds Tour schedule

Thursday, March 1
Friday, March 2
Saturday, March 3
Sunday, March 4
Thursday, March 8
Friday, March 9
Saturday, March 10
Sunday, March 11
Friday, March 23
Saturday, March 24
Thursday, March 29
Friday, March 30
Saturday, March 31
Sunday, April 1
Friday, April 6
Saturday, April 7
Thursday, May 3
Friday, May 4
Sunday, May 6
Thursday, May 31
Saturday, June 2
Sunday, June 10
Saturday, June 16
Sunday, June 17
Saturday, June 23
Sunday, June 24
Saturday, June 30
Sunday, July 1
Wednesday, July 4
Saturday, July 14
Sunday, July 15
Monday, July 16
Wednesday, July 18
Thursday, July 19
Friday, July 20
Saturday, July 21
Sunday, July 22
Saturday, Aug. 4
Sunday, Aug. 5
Wednesday, Aug. 29
Thursday, Aug. 30
Friday, Aug. 31
Saturday, Sept. 1
Sunday, Sept. 2
Monday, Sept. 3
Thursday, Sept. 6
Friday, Sept. 7
Saturday, Sept. 8
Sunday, Oct. 7
Friday, Oct. 12
Saturday, Oct. 13
Sunday, Oct. 14
Saturday, Oct. 20
Sunday, Oct. 21
Monday, Oct. 22
Tuesday, Oct. 23
Wednesday, Oct. 24
Thursday, Oct. 25
Friday, Oct. 26
Saturday, Oct. 27
Sunday, Oct. 28
Friday, Nov. 23
Saturday, Nov. 24
Wednesday, Nov. 28
Thursday, Nov. 29
Friday, Nov. 30


2012 IMS tickets: Tickets for the three events at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in 2012 – the Indianapolis 500 on Sunday, May 27, the Super Weekend at the Brickyard from July 26-29 and the Red Bull Indianapolis GP from Aug. 17-19 – are on sale now.
Tickets can be purchased now by visiting, calling the IMS ticket office at (317) 492-6700 or (800) 822-INDY outside the Indianapolis area or visiting the ticket office at the IMS Administration Building at the corner of Georgetown Road and 16th Street. Ticket office and phone hours are 8 a.m.-5 p.m. (ET) Monday-Friday.
Show More Show Less
Now Viewing
More Than Half Of 2012 IMS Grounds Tour Dates On Weekends
More Than Half Of 2012 IMS Grounds Tour Dates On Weekends
The Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum will continue its popular Grounds Tour in 2012, with 36 of the 66 dates on weekends or national holidays.
Read More
Related Media
Kevin Harvick
Monday Racing Roundup: Harvick Advances With Clutch Win at Dover
Forced to win at Dover International Speedway to keep his NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship hopes alive Sunday, Kevin Harvick did just that, dominating Sunday’s AAA 400 to stave off elimination from the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup.
Read More
Tony Stewart
Stewart Officially Announces Retirement from Sprint Cup
Tony Stewart officially announced his retirement from NASCAR Sprint Cup racing after the 2016 season on Wednesday, saying the choice was “100 percent mine” and that he’s not done racing in other series.
Read More
Matt Kenseth
Monday Racing Roundup: Kenseth Wins as Harvick Runs Dry at N.H.
Kenseth, who came to pit road for fuel and tires on Lap 239, triumphed for the fifth time this season (tops in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series), for the second time at the Magic Mile and for the 36th time in his career. He finished 8.941 seconds ahead of Hamlin, who nursed his car to a runner-up finish despite a late-race issue with the right front wheel.
Read More
Denny Hamlin
Monday Racing Roundup: Hamlin Wins Chase Opener at Chicagoland
Hamlin’s first victory at Chicagoland, his second of the season and the 16th of his career ensured the driver of the No. 11 JGR Toyota will advance from the Challenger Round to the Contender Round of the Chase, as the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series heads to New Hampshire and the second race of the postseason.
Read More
NASCAR Green Award
IMS Wins Award for Solar Farm at NASCAR Green Summit
For more than 100 years, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway has stood for moving forward and breaking records. The IMS Solar Farm continues this tradition, and was recently recognized with an award at the NASCAR Green Summit.
Read More
Items 1 - 5 of 654
Reserve one of our hospitality suites for your next event!
To start planning your event at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway please fill out our Information Request Form or contact Laura Wyamn at (317) 492-8557 or email at
Latest Tweets
IMS Museum Ferrari wins Best of Show in Santa Fe! Check out the story today on the IMS Blog:
about 47 minutes ago