• Home
  • Marquez Wins 2014 Red Bull Indianapolis GP at IMS

August 10, 2014  |   By IMS

Marquez Wins 2014 Red Bull Indianapolis GP at IMS

Reigning MotoGP World Champion Marc Marquez of the Repsol Honda team won the Red Bull Indianapolis GP from the pole position for the second consecutive year at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

View MotoGP Race Results

The Spaniard leads the standings with a perfect record, having won all 10 MotoGP races this season. On Sunday, he tied Australian legend Mick Doohan’s modern-era record of 10 consecutive MotoGP wins, and at 21 years, 174 days, he is the youngest rider to win 10 successive premier class races.

This is the fourth win at IMS for Marquez, including MotoGP last year and Moto2 victories in 2011 and 2012. In his brief two-year MotoGP career, Marquez has won 16 of his 28 starts and has won all five of his MotoGP starts in the U.S. If Marquez wins his next four races he can clinch the title at his home-nation Aragon GP in Spain on Sept. 28 (the 14th of 18 races on the schedule) irrespective of the results of other riders.

Marquez now has 42 Grand Prix wins placing him 12th on the all-time list with two former multi-time World Champions, Toni Mang and Max Biaggi.

Riders joining Marquez on the podium include Jorge Lorenzo and Valentino Rossi.